top of page

The Anatomy of Teeth

Have you ever wondered about what makes up your teeth?

Teeth are an important role in eating, chewing, nutrition and speech - making them an important part of your body.

Let's learn more about the anatomy of our teeth.

Types of teeth:

The average adult has 32 teeth, including their wisdom teeth. Of these 32 teeth, in order of front to back, 8 are incisors, 4 are canines, 8 are premolars, 8 are molars and 4 are wisdom teeth.


These are the teeth at the front of your smile and are used for biting into food. The two middle incisors are called central incisors while the tooth next to them are called lateral incisors. Incisors are usually the first teeth to erupt (at around 6 months for your baby teeth, and between age 7 to 8 for your adult teeth).


Your canines are the next type of teeth to develop and are your sharpest teeth, commonly used for ripping and tearing food apart. They generally appear between 16 and 20 months and between age 11 to 12 for the permanent adult teeth.


Unlike incisors and canines, premolars have a series of cusps that are used for breaking apart food. Generally, premolars have 2 cusps and will erupt between age 10 to 12 for your permanent adult teeth.


Similar to premolars, molars generally have 4 cusps that assist with crushing and grinding. The first set of molars will appear around age 6 to 7 with the second set coming through around age 12 to 13.

Wisdom Teeth:

Wisdom teeth are the third molars that typically develop between age 18 to 25. Sometimes wisdom teeth can cause problems if they don't have enough room to come through properly or if they come in at an awkward angle. In some cases, they can cause pain, infection, or damage to nearby teeth. and may need to be removed.

What makes up a tooth?


This is visible part of the tooth that's above the gum line. It's covered by a protective layer called enamel, which is the hardest substance in the human body. This part of the tooth cannot repair itself when damaged and has no nerves hence why you can't feel any pain or sensitivity in the enamel layer.


The root of the tooth is below the gum line and anchors the tooth to the jaw bone. Incisor and canine teeth have only one root, while premolars can have 1 to 2 roots. Uppers molars generally have 3 roots and lower molars have 2 roots.


The dentin is the layer of the tooth that lies between the enamel on the outside and the pulp on the inside. It's a yellowish, hard tissue that provides the bulk on the tooth's structure. When the enamel is damaged, heat or cold can enter the tooth through these paths and cause sensitivity or pain.


The pulp is the soft tissue inside the tooth that contains nerves and blood vessels. It's essential for the development and nourishment of the tooth.


This is a layer of hard, bony tissue that covers the root of the tooth and helps to anchor it to the jaw bone.

Periodontal Ligament:

This is a group of fibers that attaches the tooth to the bone and helps to keep it stable in the jaw.

For more information on dental health or our services, consult with one of our dentists!

Give us a call on 5541 2296.

Talk soon,

Wagner Dental


bottom of page